Other Words for Home

SKU: 9780062747815
Available in store: Check availability

Available in store

Close
$7.99
Add to cart
We are currently only offering in store pick up for online purchases. Check availability for each store above. Items that are in stock at your desired pick up location are usually ready the same day!
In stock
  • Details
  • OBOB Grades 6-8 2023-2024

    A Newbery Honor Book and Walter Honor Book for Younger Readers

    One of the most acclaimed middle grade books of last year is now coming out in paperback. This is a gorgeously written, hopeful novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

    I am learning how to be

    sad

    and happy

    at the same time.

    Jude never thought she’d be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

    At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven’t quite prepared her for starting school in the US, and her new label of “Middle Eastern” is an identity she’s never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises—there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

    This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most important, finding yourself.

Follow us @mudpuddlestoys